Iowa Democrats make history!

Mar 9, 2020 | Election Guide | 0 comments

Pete Buttigieg becomes first openly gay Democrat to win the Iowa Caucuses – Narrowly

Iowa City, IA – Welcome to our first of many “General Election Guide” updates. Our focus will be on those contests that affect us the most in Johnson and Linn Counties. Of course, this includes statewide races like the race for U.S. Senate as Joni Ernst looks to defend her Senate seat. There are also essential races for the U.S. House of Representatives.

Iowa’s 2nd congressional district covers most of the southeastern portion of the state. It includes Davenport, Iowa City, and Muscatine. The district is currently represented by the retiring Democrat Dave Loebsack, who has been in office since 2007. As an open seat in 2020, you know this race will be a hot one.

Of course, there is the seat in Iowa’s first congressional district. This district includes the cities of Dubuque, Cedar Rapids, and Waterloo. Democrat Abby Finkenauer is the current U.S. representative. Every district is essential if the Democrats hope to hold on to the House of Representatives. You know the GOP will be going after her seat. As a first-term congresswoman, this will be a hotly contested race, no matter her opponent.

Iowa Democrats make history. Former South Bend, IN Mayor Pete Buttigieg, becomes the first openly gay Democrat to win the Iowa Caucuses. GoGuide Magazine endorsed Buttigieg. The state party final tally awards 14 national convention delegates to Buttigieg, 12 to Sanders, 8 to Elizabeth Warren, 6 to Joe Biden, and 1 to Amy Klobuchar. GG




Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join Our Newsletter

Join Our Newsletter

You have Successfully Subscribed!